Unesco's World Nature Heritages in Atlantic Rainforest

The Brazilian Natural World Heritage Sites Program is a 10-year initiative, supported by Unesco and a group of Brazilian agencies. Three of the seven Natural Heritage Sites in Brazil are in the Atlantic Forest, and this program seeks to develop mechanisms, competencies and skills to support key protected areas and enable local communities to pursue development goals that are compatible with biodiversity conservation.

:. Atlantic Forest South-East Reserves
The Atlantic Forest South-East Reserves, in the states of Paraná and São Paulo, contain some of the best and most extensive examples of Atlantic forest in Brazil. The 25 protected areas that make up the site (some 470,000 ha in total) display the biological wealth and evolutionary history of the last remaining Atlantic forests. From mountains covered by dense forests, down to wetlands, coastal islands with isolated mountains and dunes, the area comprises a rich natural environment of great scenic beauty.

:. Discovery Coast Atlantic Forest Reserves
The Discovery Coast Atlantic Forest Reserves, in the states of Bahia and Espírito Santo, consist of eight separate protected areas containing 112,000 ha of Atlantic forest and associated shrub (restingas). The rainforests of Brazil’s Atlantic coast are the world’s richest in terms of biodiversity. The site contains a distinct range of species with a high level of endemism and reveals a pattern of evolution that is not only of great scientific interest but is also of importance for conservation.

:. Iguassu National Park
The park shares with Iguazú National Park in Argentina one of the world’s largest and most impressive waterfalls, extending over some 2,700 m. It is home to many rare and endangered species of flora and fauna, among them the giant otter and the giant anteater. The clouds of spray produced by the waterfall are conducive to the growth of lush vegetation.

Brazil's properties inscribed on the World Heritage List


1.   Brasilia (1987)
2.   Historic Centre of Salvador de Bahia (1985)
3.   Historic Centre of São Luís (1997)
4.   Historic Centre of the Town of Diamantina (1999)
5.   Historic Centre of the Town of Goiás (2001)
6.   Historic Centre of the Town of Olinda (1982)
7.   Historic Town of Ouro Preto (1980)
8.   Jesuit Missions of the Guaranis (1983)
9.   Sanctuary of Bom Jesus do Congonhas (1985)
10. Serra da Capivara National Park (1991)


11. Atlantic Forest South-East Reserves (1999)
12. Brazilian Atlantic Islands: Fernando de Noronha and Atol das Rocas Reserves (2001)
13. Central Amazon Conservation Complex (2000)
14. Cerrado Protected Areas: Chapada dos Veadeiros and Emas National Parks (2001)
15. Discovery Coast Atlantic Forest Reserves (1999)
16. Iguaçu National Park (1986)
17. Pantanal Conservation Area (2000)